Two Weeks Later…

I’ve been exploring Ireland for the past two weeks and it sure has been grand. I still can’t grasp the beauty that is Ireland. Though the weather can be a drag sometimes, the Irish’s personalities make up for it.

I live in an apartment, on campus, with three Irish students and one American. It’s been comforting having someone right next door that can relate. On the other hand, the Irish girls have been the sweetest which has made my stay even more enjoyable. In fact, one of them made curry (which is proven to be a popular dish) and shared it with me! It was a generous and delicious gift.

At Maynooth, we are given the first week to test out courses that we find interesting without completely committing to it. I went to about 5 classes; one being a Gaelic class. I went into the Gaelic class thinking that I would be learning about the history of the language since the class is called “Irish for Local History”, however, it wasn’t. By the end of the class, the professor expected us to have a whole conversation! It was difficult. All I retained was how to say “hello”. Dia dhuit! Let’s just say that I didn’t register for that class. Instead, I’m taking an actual Irish history class, a class about women in 5th century Greece and Rome, one about Irish manuscripts (I get to learn calligraphy so I’m pumped), and another Irish history course taught by the Regis professor that travelled to Ireland with us.

Speaking of Regis, I think I forgot to mention that I came over with a group of Regis students and a professor! Having some fellow Rangers with me has been extremely comforting. I’ve made friendships that won’t become long-distance. We are actually traveling to Belfast in the coming weeks. In Belfast, we will be meeting up with some kids from Loras College which is where my BFF goes to school!

On the topic of travel, I’ve just booked flights to London, Barcelona, Edinburgh, Lucerne, Munich, Salzburg, Rome, and Greece! I’m no fortune-teller, but I see more trips in my future. My severe case of wanderlust is being cured (for now).

I’ve enjoyed my two weeks, but looking forward to the next 16.

Sending my love from Ireland,

Izzy, the explorer

P.S. I’ve attached some photos from my travels! Enjoy!

south-campus
South Campus
church-on-south-campus
Campus Chapel
first-and-last-guinness
My first and last Guinness

m

fish-and-chips
Love me some fish & chips
hug-it-out
too cute not to share (Dublin Zoo)
irish-voodoo-donuts
Stumbled upon a delicious donut shop in Dublin
lemon
per mom’s request (Lemon Crepe and Coffee, Dublin)
cliffs-of-moher-profile-pic
Rainy day at the Cliffs of Moher

cliffs-of-moher

cliffs-of-moher2

travel-bugs
travel buds

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lynda Majewski says:

    That is so great, Izzy.. So happy you can experience this wonder time in Dublin and all over Europe.. You will love it and those memories will last forever!! Have fun.. Love, Aunt Lynda

    Like

Leave a comment